Cassandra Phillips: Scenic Artist
 
Picture
This week, I have been working on marbling Lucy's Tomb.  It is pretty big and upright and the challenge is to get it to look nice even though it needs to get done quickly and I can't use any splash techniques.  The tomb could not  be laid down in any way due to its shape and weight. 
Picture
The lid also pivots open and I needed to marble the inside back and top side so when it opens and Lucy comes out, it looks marble the whole way through.  The pivoting lid also poses the problem of how and what to paint that edge, since the fit is rather snug and the two pieces will be drug across each other over and over. 

Picture
Here I am working on finishing up the molding of the tomb.  




Claire had suggested using paper to patch the rugged wood of the inside of the tomb, since there were tons of knotholes and the like.  And while the inside didn't need to look as fancy as the outside, it needed to look neat, and I wanted to make it as easy as possible on myself since I was under a time constraint,  and I wanted to spend as little time cramped inside there as possible.  So, I chose to paint the bogus paper first, and then "wallpaper" the inside of the tomb for a one-shot solution.  


It was a hilarious undertaking. 

Picture

In the end,  the paper wrinkled a little, but the seams lined up nicely.  And since only a bit of the top of the inside will be seen and only momentarily, and through fabric, dressing, and the actions of an actress, I think it turned out swell!




I also finished the marble with a "frittle" - a spatter of 2:1 gloss, flat and gloss again to give the marble that raw "un-polished" look.  

Picture
Picture



Meanwhile, Claire paints the red veins on the front of the batwings, and adds torn tulle and tattered plastic to create layers.  



Picture

Picture



They are really coming togeather!

Picture


Jim builds a coral and begins to carve the foam rocks that Dracula's coffin will wash up on.   

Picture


Jim and I have also been working on finishing up the bat puppet.  Jim has cut out the pattern and hung it, while I have been working the kinks in some of the finer details.  

Picture



With the use of some elastic, magnets and weights, I think this little guy will take flight beautifully.  

Picture



And load-in continues!


Your comment will be posted after it is approved.


Leave a Reply.


Cassandra Phillips: Scenic Artist