Cassandra Phillips: Scenic Artist
 
Picture
This week our fabulous intern, Roxanne, and I had the great opportunity to paint the seal of the great state of Iowa on white rear projection screen to make a lightbox for our first show in the Elizabethan this year, "The Very Merry Wives of Windsor, Iowa."


I learned a l lot about Iowa in the process.  The seal was originally a wood carving only 2 inches across, which made some of the symbols a little hard to decipher.  So, I did a little research and found out about paddle boats and iron smelters and plows and even liberty caps.  

Picture

I had never painted on RP before.  I found it to be a  very challenging surface that shows EVERY brush stroke even though we used a lot of medium in the paint.

Picture


Finished product!

Picture


Even had time for a little fun with the frame. 



Your comment will be posted after it is approved.


Leave a Reply.


Cassandra Phillips: Scenic Artist